joshuafmetcalfe

Working weekend away.

In Agricultural, education, farming, getting started on November 26, 2012 at 1:11 pm

It’s been a while since my last post and in many ways it’s a relief to write a new one. I think this is because I am only able to write one when I have been up to something (which isn’t often at the moment). Though I honestly feel I am doing well in my position; I even ‘butchered’ my first pheasant in the back yard of my Uni house last night (pictured), and I use to term ‘butchered’ very loosely. I’m thankful for the friends and contacts I have, I’d have gone insane by now without occasional access to hands on farming work.

I spent this weekend at my associate contemporary Sophie’s house (https://twitter.com/SheepishSophie) temporarily immersing myself in the rural lifestyle again. We spent Saturday fence posting and clearing undergrowth at the far end of one of her fields in order to ready it for her grazing rotation. I always underestimate the weight of the fence poster: This becomes an apparent mistake a few hours after you finish when everything between your fingertips and your shoulders hurts. I feel this eventual pain was potentially aggravated by me then using a chainsaw to clear fallen branches and brambles too.  However, though this might sound unpleasant I thoroughly enjoyed it and can’t wait to put it into practice when I get my own flock next year.

Of course I took advantage of Sophie’s passionate love of Sheep and asked as many questions as I could think of. We took a while to discuss potentially viable rare breeds for my own flock and I came to like the look of a handful of breeds; Whitefaced Woodlands, Castlemilk Moorits, Norfolk Horns and Jacobs (pictured, also courtesy of https://twitter.com/GBinNZ). Sophie has a flock of Moorits herself and she has nothing but good things to say about them. ‘Good feet, good size, good lambing, highly prized fleece, good meat’. As I am in the same position as Sophie I am sure that a rare breed is the way to go (for now) and I am very grateful for all her advice and knowledge.

I look forward to spring and lambing time. I want to get out and help as many people as possible; get as much experience as possible. There still seems to be no shortage of helpful people which I am thankful for.

On another note, today is the eve of the first episode of Farm apprentice. I urge as many people as possible to watch here; http://www.fwi.co.uk/farmersapprentice/ and be a part of this revolutionary project yourself. Please show your love and appreciation for agriculture and tune in!

Also please check out this blog, it’s called ‘The good life in practice’ for a reason; http://thegoodlifeinpractice.wordpress.com/ 

  1. […] Working weekend away.. Link here to Josh’s  (Farmers Apprentice contestant) mention of the Good Life in Practice on his blog : ) […]

  2. Glad to hear you are considering different types of sheep.

    I don’t know much about sheep myself, so I would be in the same situation i.e. asking a ton of questions.

    Also, those are some nice looking sheep. Do you know if they can be bred in Canada?

  3. I got onto wordpress.com from http://iwanttobeafarmer.
    wordpress.com/2012/11/26/81/ and I gotta admit, you have a
    sleek blog layout. How long have you been doing this?
    The way you do all of this makes it look like a piece of cake.
    The all-around look of your blog is fantastic, let alone
    the content.

Leave a Reply

