joshuafmetcalfe

Plan ahead

In Agricultural, farming on November 6, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Post Farm Apprentice I have loads of ideas, or ‘Business plans’ as they might be called. In truth I feel a little intimidated by the fact that I am seriously thinking about my future. I feel this will certainly and quickly subside as I plan my venture whilst I study in my final year of my English Degree.

What a week though. It almost seems like it never happened really. It seems to have passed by in a blink of an eye: I’m not sure if this is because I loved every second or because it was constant work. In any case it was the most rewarding and enriching experience I could have hoped for. Considering that it was the first time it has ever been attempted, I think it went incredibly well. From it I have learnt valuable lessons, gained useful contacts and made good friends. It is an experience I would wish upon anyone! Never before has looking to the future held so much potential for me. Winning doesn’t even come into the equation, purely because everybody was so pleasant that I forgot we were competing for £10,000. However, it fills me with envy when I hear that the other finalists are already making a move towards farming. My degree frustrates me and although I will miss my uni friends, I look forward to graduation.

In the past week my attention has really turned to finding a Farm that I can work on. I thought I had struck Gold when I discovered a little charity farm hidden away, 45 minutes from my front door. I woke up nice and early last week and set off walking, only to find out that in order to volunteer I had to pay a £10 membership fee and £1 for every day I work. Though this is understandable, as the farm runs as a charity, volunteering there is out of the question for a poor student like me. I’ll just have to keep looking, hopefully with winter drawing in there are farmers about who could use an extra pair of hands for maintenance work.

Also thanks to my friend Sioned, who substituted a newspaper photographer this week. Pro photography;

 

  1. Email me the name of the charity and I will send them £30 so that you can do 20 days. The deal is that you have to write about it on here. All the best MN

  2. It sounds like you had a really great experience. I have been lucky enough to be able to get a chance to work on a farm regularly. My in laws have a farm, so I am able to help them out whenever I can.

    I just stumbled into your blog today, so I am unfamiliar with your competition. Perhaps you can fill me in?

    Iain

Leave a Reply

